Wharram Builders and Friends

A Photo & Discussion Forum for Wharram Design Enthusiasts

Hi All,

Im looking at building a tiki 21 this year but before i do i thought i'd build an outrigger sailing canoe to get a feel for the building process... As i've never built anything before, the whole concept of stitch and glue is new to me and rather than get lost in a big project, a small one seems to be the way to go first...

Anyway, Im curious if anyone has built one before? At present Im looking at Wharram's "Melanesia" and Gary Dierkings "Wa'a". Wondering if anyone has any information, opinions or experiences they would like to share about the designs, the process and the sailing of them!

Many thanks,
Josh :o)

Views: 9839

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Josh:
Welcome to the forum. It sounds like a good idea to start with a smaller proyect, before the Tiki 21, but a sailing canoe is not much smaller and simpler than the Tiki 21. I've built Gary Dierking´s "T2 proa" , but frankly, if I could go backwards in time, I would build a tacking outrigger canoe, for practicity in sailing in a river like mine, where you need to tack often. Wa'apa or Tamanu could be good training platforms, but something smaller, like a dinghy or dolly could do too, being enough to practice your skills with the "stitch and glue" techniques, and you would be closer to start with your Tiki 21. Just my thought.
Best regards.
Héctor.
Hi Josh,

I agree with Hector. Build yourself a dingy - something small enough that you can use when the Tiki 21 is built. There are numerous stitch and glue designs out there- some plans even free of charge. This will give you the necessary skills to work with epoxy, fillets etc.
Good luck with the build. Keep us up to date with your progress.

Carl
Will the proa be the tender to the Tiki?

Having two boats to maintain is a pain in the ass, especially when they are both made out of wood.