Wharram Builders and Friends

A Photo & Discussion Forum for Wharram Design Enthusiasts

I will be interesting to see if these beams are strong enough -- I am not an engineer; however, I believe my beams are as strong or perhaps stronger than my original beams.  I decided to build my composite units to the same dimension as the timber.  Using four pultruded square 1/8" wall tubes laminated to a foam core (non-structural) shaped to match the original dimension.  I also laminated diagonal components to form a 'web truss' within the beams.  At the mast step additional pultrusions were laminated to the center of the beams to distribute any load.  I then began laminating two layers of 17 oz. bidirectional glass cloth on the entire outside Extra layers on all tube connections, and then several layers at around the lashing positions.  I feel that has more than made up the structural equivalent of the wooden units.  All in all they seem quite stiff, although I know they will have a slight degree of flex -- being encapsulated as they are I don't have any doubts at to their strength.  These too are over built -- just in composite.   

My plans now call for finishing all the 'mods' this winter and possibly sailing to Key West by winter -- ambitious perhaps, but getting close.

Thom

Views: 3473

Attachments:

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

hi!

I like the composite beam idea. Are they still holding up? How would you strat a full hull around the shape fo a Pahi. Any suggestions for plastic battens and bulkheads?

My beams are exactly as I installed them nearly 2 1/2 years ago.  They turned out to be about half the weight of timber.  I could have made them lighter, but I decided to err on the conservative side.

T

thanks for your reply. Gald to hear that. When my project of a full plastic Wharram becomes definite, I'd be gratefull for more photos of the building and more instructions.

Sure.

stella said: